Home time :) :( :) :(

The atmosphere in hostels these last few days is funny, people are either preparing for home time (aka depressed!) or making plans for Christmas and New Years in Brazil! Although I´m feeling a little down about checking out of the backpackers world today I am also so excited for Christmas at home with the people I love, sure why would you want to be anywhere else! (Copacabana beach for New Years would be unreal though!) My mummy would never have let me stay away for Christmas, which in itself makes me so happy. She named me the family boomerang years ago so I have to always return!

Getting ready to go home means this year is coming to an end which brings so many mixed emotions for me. I decided last year to take a year doing things I had never done before to invest in my personal development. I felt I was becoming stale in my work and a bit restless being at home. South Africa, Tajikistan and 11 countries in Latin America later and I can safely say they were the best decisions I’ve ever made! Thoughout this year of stepping out of my comfort zone I have felt challenged, been rewarded and developed massively. I have been exposed to so many different cultures, environments, traditions, mind sets, values, people, music, food, weather, clothing, landscapes, languages, religions…..it’s safe to say it has been a year of diversity! I have loved it all; even the absolute fear stepping on the plane to the unknown when I headed to Tajikistan! This year has given me the learning, development and regenerated motivation that I hoped it would. A huge part of this is down to the incredible people I have met along the way. From the beautiful people of Blanco, South Africa that I was fortunate to volunteer with, to the inspiring volunteers, staff team and local women I worked with in Tajikistan, and of course all the crazy characters I met backpacking (being part of a community of people who are so open, trust worthy, approachable, courageous, interesting, adventurous, and often like minded, is very refreshing and also lots of fun!) I have learnt something from each and every person I have spent time with this year, for which I am extremely grateful

After the buzz of the festive season is over I guess I better check back into real life for a while. Who knows what 2015 holds………..one thing I have learnt from this year is that my instinct knows best so I am again going to put my trust in that and see where it takes me #exciting!

Thanks for reading this blog, I hope you have enjoyed it. If ever you find yourself faced with opportunities that may feel overwhelmingly scary please go for it – life really does begin at the end of your comfort zone!

Merry Christmas x

Leave a Reply

